There was talk of victory of one of Sidhu and Bikram Majithia, this leader was defeated



Amritsar East assembly seat of Punjab was the high profile seat of the state. From here veteran Congress leader Navjot Singh Sidhu and Shiromani Akali Dal’s Bikram Majithia were in the fray. Both are counted among the veteran leaders of the state. The direct contest on this seat was between these two candidates. But the bet has been won by a leader about whom very few people know. From this seat, Aam Aadmi Party’s candidate Jeevan Jyot Kaur has defeated both the veteran leaders with a big margin. Jeevan Jyot Kaur got 39,679 votes while Navjot Singh Sidhu got 32929 votes. Bikram Majithia got 25188 votes. He finished third.

Amritsar East seat came into the limelight when Shiromani Akali Dal chief Sukhbir Singh Badal fielded his brother-in-law and three-time MLA from Majitha, Bikram Singh Majithia, against Navjot Singh Sidhu. Former Punjab minister Bikram Singh Majithia left his safe seat Majitha. From here his wife Ganeev Kaur Majithia contested and won by a margin of more than 25,000 votes.

Sidhu had not lost any election till date

Navjot Singh Sidhu came into politics in the year 2004 and dominated. He contested the Lok Sabha elections for the first time from Amritsar and defeated RL Bhatia of Congress by 90 thousand votes. He won again in the 2009 Lok Sabha elections, but in 2014 BJP cut his ticket. However, the party sent him to Parliament via Rajya Sabha.

Sidhu joined Congress in 2017. And contested the assembly elections from Amritsar East. He got 60 thousand 477 votes. He defeated Akali-BJP alliance candidate Rajesh Kumar Honey by 42 Thousand 809 votes. Honey got only 17,668 votes. At number three was Sarbjot Dhanjal of Aam Aadmi Party, who got 14 thousand 715 votes. That is, Punjab Congress President Navjot Singh Sidhu had not lost any election till date.

read this also- Rahul Gandhi’s first statement came on the poor performance of Congress in 5 states, know what he said?

Uttarakhand Election Result 2022: BJP on the way to big victory, but CM Pushkar Singh Dhami could not save his own seat



Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

error: Content is protected !!